Print Shortlink

Facebook: All Your Stuff is Ours, Even if You Quit

If you use Facebook, you should always be conscience of what information you put online. Also keep in mind, once its up there… its out there and taking it down doesn’t always mean its gone. So think twice before posting those pictures of you smoking your bong up online. In related news…

Facebook’s terms of service (TOS) used to say that when you closed an account on their network, any rights they claimed to the original content you uploaded would expire. Not anymore.

Now, anything you upload to Facebook can be used by Facebook in any way they deem fit, forever, no matter what you do later. Want to close your account? Good for you, but Facebook still has the right to do whatever it wants with your old content. They can even sublicense it if they want.

Read the full article as it breaks down the changes in the TOS.